Masthead Image

Definitions - Six families of not "i's" within the Picture of Man (from Headlines)

[How one tries to change and control situations, people and events outside of him to achieve non-disturbance or the four dual basic urges-referred to as self improvement.]

The six families of not "I's" seen in the picture of man were formed by the infant trying to regain the non-disturbed state of the womb.

First Infant Decision - Complaining and Crying

The infant decides that the way to improve his situation is to complain in order to get his own way right now. The method used by the infant is crying. As he grows older, he discovers more sophisticated ways of complaining.

Second Infant Decision - Sticking Up for Rights

He later forms the idea that the way to improve self is by sticking up for his rights. He becomes belligerent and would fight if he were able. As the infant grows older, he begins to fight for his rights, never once considering why he has what he believes to be rights or if indeed he has any rights. Possibly he only has privileges. Later the child is exposed to "irritable" outside forces from his environment. He continues to get his way by complaining and sticking up for what he feels are his rights. This develops conflict between him and other members of his family. They grow tired of always trying to please him and begin to insist that he please them. His parents express disapproval of his behavior, sometimes by inflicting physical pain.

Third Infant Decision - Pleasing

Because the child has been unable to gain the non disturbed state using the first two methods, he forms the third method of self-improvement: that it is important to please others. This idea, that one should please others in order to be non-disturbed, is in direct conflict with the two previous ideas. Thus, the self is in inner conflict. One side tells him to please others while the other tells him he should please himself. Once inner conflict has been established, a portion of his inner state splits off to be a "chooser" between these two antagonists.

Fourth Infant Decision - Believing and Doing What Authorities Say

The fourth idea of self-improvement develops when the child is brought into contact with people other than his family members. These people teach him that he cannot gain the non-disturbed state unless he believes and does the things he is told. Thus he decides it is important for him to believe and do what his authorities tell him.

He does what his authorities request because he desires their praise and wants to escape the punishment they inflict for disobedience. The rights of others have now become supreme and he is denying his own rights. This action is in direct conflict with the second decision which stated that his rights were supreme. His inner conflict has now increased to a much higher intensity because of these opposing ideas.

Fifth Infant Decision - Acting Differently

As the child grows, he forms a fifth idea of how to improve "self," that of acting differently from how he actually feels. He begins to put on a front by giving false statements about his feelings. For example, he will say he is glad to see someone he is not glad to see and says he likes things that he does not like. He may also claim to believe in things that he does not believe in. He says these things simply because he believes that this is what is expected of him. He believes that acting this way will help him escape painful situations. Yet this fifth decision of putting on a front of being different still brings him no peace. It only further accentuates his inner conflict.

Sixth Infant Decision - Blaming

The child later forms a sixth idea of how he should improve "self." He concludes that if his circumstances were different-if it, she, they, and you were different-then self would be improved. He places blame on others because he lacks the ability to reach the non-disturbed state using the previous ideas. This blaming leads to his seeking psychological and physical power over others to improve them.

These are the six basic ideas one uses to improve self. There are also many subdivisions of these which one may discover if he looks for them. All of the ideas of self-improvement are made without words. They are formed by one's strong inner feelings and are spoken of as being the subconscious. In certain literature they are called "Not I's" and the "evil one" is blamed for their creation. Thus one who is using these ideas or decisions is said to be possessed by the evil one. One's mind is filled with these "not I's," each speaking with full authority, claiming to be the "I" of awareness. There is a host of these "not I's" which are merely thoughts and each claims to know "what is right" and "what ought to be".